Vermont Nurse Practitioners Association

Action Needed on Proposed RN and APRN License Fee Increases

Posted 12 days ago

Dear Friends,

The House Ways and Means is considering a spike in RN and APRN renewal fees. Please e-mail your legislator with your opposition to this high fee increase. See below for legislator contact info and a sample e-mail. If you send an email, please consider copying to your own representatives as well. 

Action is required today and early tomorrow morning.

Background info for you prior to sending the e-mail:

APRNs in Vermont, as in many states, are required to pay both the APRN license fee, in addition to the Registered Nurse (RN)l license fee. Under the current fee structure, APRNs are required to pay the following biannual renewal fees:

 

Registered Nurse                                         $140

Advanced practice registered nurses      $  75

              Total                                                $215

 

Under the proposed increase, APRN will be required to pay the following biannual renewal fees:

Registered Nurse                                         $200

Advanced practice registered nurses      $225

              Total                                                $425

 

The Fee Bill is proposing a 43% increase in the RN renewal fee and a 200% increase in the ARPN renewal fees, both of which will be incurred by the APRNs. 

The National Council of State Boards of Nursing prepared a 2017 report on nursing licensure throughout the country. Vermont’s APRN renewal licensing fees, as they currently stand (before the proposed increase) are significantly higher than most other states/territories – in fact, they join only 3 other states/territories as the highest APRN renewal fees in the nation.

Such a significant fee increase, which is out-of-step with the rest of the nation, will be a deterrent for APRNs to seek licensure in Vermont, resulting in an even greater health care provider shortage than currently exists in Vermont.

Message to legislators (personalize as much as possible so they don’t get the same e-mail content):

Please limit to a few sentences.

Introduce yourself – I am xxxx, I reside in xxxx and am one of your constituents.

State your concern (use this as a guide so they don’t get the exact same e-mail) – I am writing about the proposed fee increase for RNs and APRNs. APRNs are required to pay both license fees. The proposed RN fees are a 43% increase over current renewal fees. The proposed APRN renewal fees are a 200% increase over the current fees. Such a high fee increase will serve as a deterrent to attracting new registered nurses and advanced practice registered nurses to Vermont. Vermont needs to be attracting nursing health care professionals, not deterring them from living and working in Vermont.

You can also add info on the other costs you incur in practicing your profession – school loans, national certifications, DEA fees ($731 for 3 years), continuing education costs etc

Please oppose the proposed fee increases.

Committee Member E-Mails

Rep. Janet Ancel, Chair - janetancel@gmail.com

Rep. William Canfield, Vice Chair - wcanfield@leg.state.vt.us

Rep. Johannah Donovan, Ranking Member - jdonovan@leg.state.vt.us

Rep. Peter Anthony - panthony@leg.state.vt.us

Rep. Scott Beck - sbeck@leg.state.vt.us

Rep. Patrick Brennan - pbrennan@leg.state.vt.us

Rep. Cynthia Browning - cbrowning@leg.state.vt.us

Rep. James Masland - jmasland@leg.state.vt.us

Rep. Robin Scheu, Clerk - RScheu@leg.state.vt.us

Rep. George W. Till - gtill@leg.state.vt.us

Rep. Samuel Young - syoung@leg.state.vt.us